How to: Pork Kidney

 

I personally don’t like kidneys. I don’t like the smell of them and I don’t like the taste of them.

But I know there is a lot of people out there who actually enjoy them and I happen to live with one of those people.

 

kidney

 

I didn’t take any photos while I was preparing them because, to be honest it wasn’t any fun for me.

You must rinse them in cold water a good couple of times and then cut them in half and remove all the  white membranes from the inside.

Rinse them again in cold water for a good couple of times.

Then rub them well with 3 tbs baking soda.

Rinse the baking soda and place the kidneys in a bowl.

Cover them with cold water mixed with the juice from half lemon

(I left the skin of the lemon in the water for a more lemony flavor).

You can also use some white vinegar instead of lemon juice.

Let the kidneys soak in the lemon water for over 30 minutes or even more.

Heat a frying pan on medium high heat.

Put 1 tbs butter and about 2 tbs olive oil into the pan and add the kidneys. Season with salt & pepper.

(after rinsing them for a last time)

Cook for 10 minutes.

Then add 2 garlic cloves crushed into the pan and let it cook for another 10 minutes or so.

To be honest it didn’t smell bad at all while I was cooking them and when I served them

I couldn’t resist de impulse of tasting them, even though I tried kidneys before and did not like them.

I still don’t like them 😀 , but the dish was praised par les connaisseur!

 

ENJOY!

 

Leave a Reply

