Plantains Roasted in Coconut Oil

 

Ever since I first ate fried plaintains in a mexican restaurant, I’ve been trying to make something just as tasty but not as unhealthy

(all that butter and frying them just didn’t do the trick for me).

I made plantains fritters and liked them, but it was not the same.

I fried them once in butter and another time I roasted them in the oven.

Both versions came up good but not WOW.

 

DSC_0046ss

 

I wanted them to be moist, to melt in the mouth not dry and all greasy.

That was how I come upon this recipe that I recommend with all my heart.

It’s not only divine, it’s also paleo and vegan friendly and very healthy.

 

Ingredients:

 

3 very ripe plantains (black it’s perfect)

coconut oil

parchment paper

aluminium foil

some brown sugar (optional)

 

Peel the plantains, cut them in half and them cut each half in 3 thin slices.

Cover the slices of plantains with coconut oil.

Cover a pan with parchment paper and place the plantains in it.

Sprinkle some brown sugar ( 1/3 tbs) on top and cover the pan with aluminium foil.

Make 5 – 6 holes in the aluminium foil and put the pan in the oven.

Roast the plantains at 370 F for 10 -15 minutes on each side.

(don’t overcook them, you want them moist)

Serve them with ice cream, creme fraiche, greek yogurt or just plain (like I did).

 

ENJOY!

 

Leave a Reply

