Baked Apple Quinoa

quinoaw

Vegetarian diet week 2!

I am not gonna to count the small piece of chicken I had last night… in my defence, I just had too and it was tiny.

Now about quinoa… to be honest I had a hard time learning how to make it my friend.

I either did not cook it enough, or used to much water (you don’t want to do that, yack!)… or I just used the wrong combination of ingredients!

I kept trying and in the end it payed off big time!

I made this “dish” a couple of times now… because I love baked apples, not because I’m afraid to try something new with quinoa! 😀

INGREDIENTS:

1 cup red quinoa

3 apples baked at 350F for about 20 minutes

1/4 cup hydrated raisins

1/4 cup pecans

cinnamon

Cook the quinoa following the instructions on the bag and let it cool.

Hydrate the raisins in warm water mixed with a few drops of rum extract.

Bake the apples, let it cool and cut them in small cubes.

Mix the quinoa with the raisins, baked apples and cinnamon.

Chop the pecans and sprinkle them on top of the quinoa.

I didn’t add any sweetners (for me the raisins and the baked apple makes it sweet enough) but I bet it goes really well with maple syrup.

quinoaaaa

ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

