Farro with pecans and cinnamon = modern colivă

 

DSC_0187far

 

When I saw the pack of pre-cooked farro @Trader Joe’s I had an instant flash back of the “colivă” my grandma used to make.

After more research I realized that what I needed for colivă was wheat grains not farro, but I decided to give it a try and see what happens. 🙂

 

INGREDIENTS:

1 cup farro

2 cups water

4 tbs brown sugar

(I should have used more than that, but I I am afraid of sugar :D)

1/2 tbs rum extraction

1/2 tbs vanilla

1/2 cinnamon

lemon zest

 orange zest

1/2 cup pecan meal

1/2 cup pecan in really small pieces

 

Steam the farro or cook it on very low heat for 30- 40 minutes.

Let it cool down and combine it with the rest of the ingredients.

 

DSC_0187we

 

 

It seems like my childhood foods are hunting me this days, but it’s really healthy and tasty.

ENJOY!

 

Leave a Reply

