Meatballs Romanian Style

 

P1200112ffttt

 

Today I have for you an exotic recipe: CHIFTELE!

I’m just joking! This is a pretty common type of preparing ground meat

 (pork mostly, but it can be done with any type of meat, even fish)

in Romania and it’s usually served with mash potatoes or rice.

You can also prepare a tomato based sauce for these babies, it tastes amazing.

I almost never make them with sauce because I really liked them “plain” as a child and I can’t get over that :D.

 

P1200086w

 

You need:

1 pound ground meat

2 handfuls of chopped parsley

(or dried if you don’t have fresh;  but don’t do as I did and use fresh :D)

2 handfuls of chopped dill

4 garlic cloves

1/2 small red onion

(finely chopped or grated)

pink salt& pepper

1 egg

2 tbs sunflower oil

1 small potatoe grated and drained 

(press small amounts between your palms to squize all the juice out)

 

P1200093d

 

Mix all the ingredients together.

 

P1200096we

 

I add the potatoe at the end and mixed very well.

 

P1200108er

 

Grab around 1/2 cup of the meat mixture in your hand and shape it into a ball.

Roll it into flour, then gently flaten it between your palms.

Traditionally, “chiftele”  or the meatballs are fried in hot oil (sunflower usually).

 I try to avoid frying so I placed a parchment paper on a cookie tray and put the meatballs on it.

I baked them at 385F for 15 minutes or so (until the meat is done; make sure you don’t let them in the oven too long, the meat gets very dry).

 

P1200112qwe

 

 

I had them with smoked mashed potatoes! No, it’s not a new culinary invention, I just managed to burn the potatoes while boiling them. 😀

 

ENJOY!

 

2 thoughts on “Meatballs Romanian Style

Leave a Reply

